My Thoughts and Reflections on Everything

Basically just my take on life as I see it :)

The Wolves Of This Cruel And Crazy World

 

The book cover to 'The Wolf of Wall Street'

The book cover to 'The Wolf of Wall Street'

 

 

I was having a coffee break with a good friend and we went on chatting about the economy and politics of the country. Being businessmen, we often talk about the ways and means of getting by in this cruel and crazy world.

As usual to hasten the deals with the government departments, a little you-know-what is required. I told him that I could feel his pain (an obvious fan of Slick Willy of course) and I also shared that I have enough of dispensing all these you-know-whats. I’ve decided not to subject myself to this practices. Instead I’ll be persistent in getting what I want, after all they are supposed to help me… it’s their job to do so for crying out loud! I’ll have coffee with them and that’s it! (Well perhaps lunches and dinners are alright as well…)

I have come to a realization that if we of the business community condone this kind of practices, then when will the corruption ever stop? It will never end as the cycle of life will still go on after we are gone. If we don’t do anything about it the corruption will ever end and it will be catastrophic for the next generation. The country would end up in shambles in 20 years time. Right now we are all surviving the despotic government that rules with double standards. Read RPK’s post here.

At the political front, Pakatan Rakyat has created many firsts and the main one was denying Barisan Nasional’s 2/3 majority in Parliament. This means that the government can no longer over-ride any bills that needs discussion and passing at a whim. They need to duke it out with debates until both sides can come up with a mutual understanding to either have the motion pass or die. Interesting? No doubt, but there’s still a lot of work to be done and this is only the beginning.

Meanwhile, over the business front, the after effects of March 8,2008 has not yet seep and sunk in the heads of these ‘businessmen/entrepreneurs’ who are still practicing the wonderful wheeling and dealing the same way. The businessmen generally feel that they need not to grow a conscience in order to procure lots of money.

I am currently reading ‘The Wolf of Wall Street‘ by Jordon Belfort.

 

The Wolf of Wall Street

Jordan Belfort : The Wolf of Wall Street

 

Below is an excerpt from the last paragraph of the book’s prologue:

“But what I sincerely hope is that my life serves as cautionary tale to the rich and poor alike; to anyone with a spoon up their nose and a bunch of pills dissolving in their stomach sac; or to any person who’s considering taking a God-given gift and misusing it; to anyone who decides to go to the dark side of the force and live a life of unbridled hedonism. And to anyone who thinks there’s anything glamorous about being known as a Wolf of Wall Street.” 

The book reads like a novel and the author has stated that he did ‘rearranged and/or compressed events and time periods in service of the narrative…to match…(his) best recollection of those exchanges.’

This book appeals to me because in an minimal scale, I had my share of experiences about being in the ‘dark side of the force ‘ for the sake of the business as I naively told myself back then; thinking that I could control myself and ended up nearly losing myself and my family. Thinking back, I don’t want to go back there anymore, I’m happy where I am now and being together with my loving family.

That’s why I’m in dilemma over dealing with government servants. I’m afraid that their corruption would affect me as a person. Whatever it is, don’t take lightly the affects of what the corruption can do to you; the temptation is very,very powerful and we are merely flawed human beings and will succumb to its siren’s call.

I’m still reading the book and right now I am thinking, ” Finally, a book that provides the answers that I am seeking for…” 

Once I’m done reading the book, I’m going to pass it over to my good friend that I mentioned earlier. Hopefully it will provide some insights on this mad and cruel world.

Anyway the book is available at all major book stores if you’re interested; I got mine from Popular.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

