My Thoughts and Reflections on Everything

Basically just my take on life as I see it :)

SabahAir CEO And Ex Sabah MP Dies

SabahAir CEO Affendi Tun Fuad Stephen receiving a plaque from Luciano Stoppa of AugustaWestland

SabahAir CEO Affendi Tun Fuad Stephen (left) receiving a plaque from Luciano Stoppa(right) of AugustaWestland

Affendy Tun Fuad Stephens, son of late Sabah Chief Minister Tun Fuad Stephens, passed away approximately at 5 this morning. Affendy was formerly a Sabah Member of Parliament and upon his death, CEO of  SabahAir Aviation Sdn Bhd. According to family members he died of stroke.

He was 50 years old.

Read here and here for more of his career in life.

Next, below I’ve included a news report on Affendy’s passing;

Former Marudu MP dies in Singapore
16 Apr 09 : 8.40PM

KOTA KINABALU, 16 April 2009: Former Marudu member of parliament Affendy Stephens, the second son of the late former Yang Dipertua Negeri Tun Mohammed Fuad Stephens, died of a heart condition at about 4am today.

Affendy, who was 50, leaves behind wife Zalina Kamal and three daughters aged between three and 15.

Affendy, who was elected Marudu MP under a Parti Berjaya ticket at the age of 23 in 1982 and served for a term, was one of Malaysia’s youngest MPs.

Affendy joined Umno when the party expanded its wing to Sabah in 1991 and held various positions, including as the Penampang Umno division deputy head and as its youth chief before opting out of active politics.

Affendy was a director in several companies in Kuala Lumpur and Sabah.

According to his sister Faridah Stephens, Affendy had breathing problem and chest discomfort and sought treatment at the Mount Elizabeth Hospital in Singapore on 9 April. He had been on holiday in the city state with his family.

His mother Toh Puan Rahimah Stephens, a former state minister, and other family members had rushed to Singapore to be with him.

“We never expected this. He seemed to be all right last night,” said Faridah.

Affendy’s body was brought from Singapore to his in-laws’ residence at 56, Jalan BJ/4, Taman Bukit Jaya in Bukit Antarabangsa, Kuala Lumpur and was buried at the Jalan Ampang Muslim cemetery at the Kampung Baru Mosque at 9.30am today. — Bernama

My deepest condolences to Affendy Stephens’ family.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “SabahAir CEO And Ex Sabah MP Dies

  1. Jeffrey Davis on said:

    I wish to express my deepest sympathy and feelings of loss of a brother and dear friend that can never be replaced. The kindness and good times I enjoyed with my good friend will always be in my heart. It has been a number of years that we haven’t seen each other however Rich is not someone you forget ever. Richard you have given me so much in life to remember, RIP. My love to Toh Puan, Faridah, (Dirgi),
    Charles, James, Bidda, all his family and friends also all who I have never met. Richard I will never never forget you bro always in my heart. Jeff = London

    • Zalina Kamal-Stephens on said:

      Hello Jeff, I am Zalina Kamal-Stephens, wife of Affendi Stephens. Looking closely again at your comment, I now recall who you are to my husband. Yes, three years to piece it together! Godbless, and thank you.

      • Jeffrey Davis on said:

        Hello Zalina,
        Thank you so much for your Email and 3 years is no time at all. Sincere regards to you and all the Stephens family, my memories of ”Chard” as Der would say sometimes, is always with me. God bless you all.
        Regards
        Jeff.

  2. Richard Warner on said:

    I went to school at GGS with Richard , as I knew him. I only just read about this. I am very sorry to hear about this and belatedly wish my condolences to his family. I remember my year at Timbertop with him well. I also remember times with him in Melbourne, and even Portsea.

Leave a Reply

